December: April Schafer, Shipwrecked

I am excited to be capping off 2011 with a special exhibit by local artist, April Schafer, titled Shipwrecked.  April currently lives in the outlying town of Pittsboro and is studying to be a nurse.  She is excited to be presenting her first gallery exhibition.

When asked about her work, she had the following to say:

“Throughout my childhood my family moved several times.  I did not know until recently that these moves have been tragically beautiful to me.  The tragedy lies within the uprooting, the loneliness, and the loss of places familiar to me.  It wasn’t until recently that I realized the beauty of being somewhere new; the beauty of a place unseen, untouched, undiscovered by myself.  I have found hope within the lonely, and adventure within loss. “

Her exhibit will open on First Friday (Dec. 2nd) with an artist reception from 6-9p.  Please join us for refreshments and time to meet April!

The exhibit will run until Saturday, Dec. 17th.

Leave a Reply

