Community and Conversation

“A single conversation across the table with a wise man is better than ten years mere study of books.”
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

I love books, but I am a believer in genuine conversations. I believe that great things happen from small, honest dialogue.

Through some great conversations over the past few weeks, I was offered the responsibilities of director at Fletcher Place Arts and Books. I am excited about this opportunity and a little intimidated to follow in the footsteps of Christie.

Christie McNabb has done such a great job–from opening the gallery in October to organizing amazing local artists to creating a space where people feel comfortable coming in and sharing a good book. Throughout this transition, Christie has been so helpful and supportive. Thank you, Christie! Good luck in your new adventures!

To share some background information, I teach public middle school full time, and I love it. Before I started teaching, I worked in a community service non-profit managing the office and organizing volunteers for service projects. Community, arts and books have always been a part of my life in some way, and as a Fletcher Place resident, I feel working with Fletcher Place Arts and Books brings it all together.

Through this transition, I ask you for the following:

  • patience–I’m exploring different type of events that will suite FPA&B, please be patient
  • ideas–What do you want to see at FPA&B or in your neighborhood?
  • time–Do you want to volunteer for special events or lead a book club?

Thank you for your support of the gallery. It’s a special place, and I hope to continue the work that has been started.

–Julia Phoebus
fpartsandbooks@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

